Something about that word–Glogster–takes me back to the eighties.  I like saying it! I decided to try out Glogster for a class assignment where  my 11th graders study American Romantic poets including Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman.  The students do a little background, choose a poem to memorize, analyze it, and then they present all of that to the class.  Sometimes students want a little more guidance, so I’ve shown them student examples from Google Slides.  However, I think it’s time to move on into 21st Century learning by  showing them that you can interact with the poems a little more.  I thought Glogster might be just the thing!  First of all, I’ll give you a little bit of information the Common Core curriculum standards that the assignment meets:

CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.RL.11-12.9
Demonstrate knowledge of eighteenth-, nineteenth- and early-twentieth-century foundational works of American literature, including how two or more texts from the same period treat similar themes or topics.

CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.RL.11-12.4
Determine the meaning of words and phrases as they are used in the text, including figurative and connotative meanings; analyze the impact of specific word choices on meaning and tone, including words with multiple meanings or language that is particularly fresh, engaging, or beautiful.

In addition, FCPS uses ISTE standards for technology.  My assignment meets Standard 6, “Students communicate clearly and express themselves creatively for a variety of purposes using the platforms, tools, styles, formats and digital media appropriate to their goals”.

I thought Glogster would be especially appropriate for 11th graders because it can be slightly challenging to navigate at first and 11th graders are pretty amazing with computers!   I also think the students are ready to try something new, so Glogster it is!   It’s really aesthetic and has plenty of choices to make the screen unique to the students’ preferences and to the specific poet.  In addition, students can make the page interactive with an audio of a poetry reading.   I made that example that I was telling you about, so they can see that if Mrs. Hunter can do it (who is slightly tech savvy, they they can do (definitely tech savvy!).  Then, we will get started with the fun!

http://ackersb.edu.glogster.com/emily-d-presentation-example

What other tools have you tried with projects similar to this?  What other recommendations do you have for this project?  I can’t wait to borrow your ideas!

Becky

 

 

 

 

 

